{Party Pictures} 50th Wedding Anniversary Party at My House

This is a party I hosted.  My in-laws just celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary.  Those of you who have planned a party, just to have something go wrong the day of the party will relate to my experience. I have everything in order until my husband and son walked in with the cake.  They took the lid off and….. it was NOT the cake I ordered and the ugliest cake I have ever seen.  We called the bakery, they admitted they were running behind and the decorator was probably rushed.  We were told we would be given our money back (which they did do the next day), but that still left me with an ugly cake, YIKES!!  I called my sister-in-law and since we had a theme of gold and red roses, she went and bought some roused, baby’s breath and greenery.  Once she got here, we went straight to work.  I was still not happy with the large circles of icing, but it was a huge improvement!

The champagne flutes surrounding the cake were a big hit and so easy.  I went to a party store and purchased a few boxes of plastic flutes.  I just the gold ribbon on several decorations (including the cake, at least they did that right!).  I made and hot glued gold ribbons to the glasses and they were just adorable 🙂

We were spread out throughout the house, but the anniversary couple sat in the dining room.  It was decorated with roses and I had a small banner hanging on the mirror.

For the final touch, I have a Harry Connick/Frank Sinatra mix playing on Pandora radio.  It set the perfect tone to the evening.

So after a stressful morning, it was a perfect evening of celebration.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

